OMG, it’s been 8½ years since I last posted.

14 Aug

Oh my goodness, it has been at least 8½ years since I added anything to this blog, and I think it is high time that it was resurrected.

Lots in my life has changed since I last posted.

In May 2022 I turned 60 years old, on the 17th of June Lois & I got married and just twelve days later my 80 year old mother passed away.

I have been ill with Kidney failure for three years and being seriously ill during the Coronavirus Pandemic inflicted a heavy toll upon both me and Lois.

I have been associated with the Scout movement all of my life and during September 2021 I managed to obtain places for Isaac Viggars and his school friend Isaac Goldsworty in the Beavers Lodge of the 3rd & 4th (Ack’s Own) Norwich Sea Scouts. When Lois & I got married I inherited her niece, Katie who has a seven year old son, George and just a few weeks before our wedding I also managed to obtain a place for him in this Beavers’ Lodge as well.

I have recently taken up Cast Iron Cooking; only I could take up up cooking in and on Cast Iron during a summer heat wave. I intend to both cook with Cast Iron Dutch Ovens and Skillets on a camp fire and on the gas stove in our kitchen. I have been associated with the Scout movement all of my life and I personal began campfire cooking 50 years ago as a 10 year old when I was in the 4th Melton Mowbray “Darwin” Cub Pack. One of my proudest achievements still is that I obtained my Cub Scouts Cooking Badge during the 1972 annual Scout Group Summer Camp that was held in a field just outside of Tywyn in mid Wales. However, it was not Cast Iron that we cooked on in the Scouts but ex-MOD surplus disposal British Army enamelled cookware from the 2nd World War and the 1950’s National Service eras.

Due to ill health I closed my one man business; Cargo Cycles back in February and I still have a reasonably large stock of now old-new stock steel including an amount of 4mm thick chequered floor plate that I picked up for nothing from a site clearance in 2014. These pieces are 1010mm x 320mm rectangles and I have sufficient of them to make myself quite a large wood-burning combined stove, oven and grill set-up. One big enough to accommodate two large Cast Iron Dutch ovens on the stove top and a grill/oven section. I also still have two 1000mm x 1000mm squares of 4mm thick steel chequered floor plate that I purchased in 2018 to make two “chopped-off” pyramid fire pits for our garden. I shall be making one of these uniquely styled fire pits and using it for both spit roasting and as an indirect heat source of piled coals for lower & slower cooking in a Cast Iron Dutch Oven. Today it is August the 14th 2022 and I have set myself the goal of having these all these out door cooking steel fabrications made and working on or before my 61st birthday on the 8th of May 2023 (subject to my on-going illness). When completed I will introduce them as part of the cooking segments for this revived Go With Gareth Blog.

In the meantime here is a short video of me cooking the most delicious and creamy scrambled eggs in one of my Cast Iron Skillets in our kitchen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26lGE43MgMI

Leave a comment